Argument Type - The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University. "Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni

In the memorandum from the president of Humana University, the president suggested to initiate and actively promote online degree program like those in Omni University. The suggestion is based on the fact that expenditures for dormitory and classroom space are decreased since online instruction take place via internet. However, to evaluate the argument, we need to examine the following stated or unstated assumptions.

In the memorandum, to increase enrollment and to solve the problem of budget deficit, Online program should be promoted. The argument considered Omni university and Humana University as comparable to each other. Perhaps it might be possible that Omni university is excellent in technical field whereas Humana University works in arts and business field. Moreover, it might be possible that Humana university courses are more practical than Omni’s courses. Therefore, these unstated assumptions need to be considered to examine the argument.

Along the above, it might be possible that Humana University is very old and required periodic maintenance for operation of the building. This assumptions is not considered in the argument. As we know, all building require frequent maintenance of building , Electric wiring , Building Paints, wooden work whereas new building doesn’t require that much maintainence. Therefore, this aspect also need to see to evaluate the argument.

Lastly, It might be possible that Omni University does not care about the standard of living in dormitory and not fulling desired standard. Is the Omni University fulfilling the desired standard? Is Humana University providing more than desired standard? Therefore, All these assumptions are need to examined to evaluate the argument.

In the conclusion, above noted assumptions need to be examined carefully to reach the conclusion that decision to initate and actively promote online degree will have desired impact or not.