In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument raises concerns regarding the highway safety of Prunty county, where the number of accidents are not decreasing despite taking measures to reduce the speed limit on all county highways. Thus, the argument recommends Prunty County to adopt measures identical to the ones in Butler County to lower the number of accidents. However, the recommendations are not very persuasive as they are in dire need of evidences to further evaluate the argument’s proposal.

First, the argument assumes that Prunty and Butler County are roughly comparable areas, which may not be true. It is possible that one area has more accident prone roads than the other. An alternative possibility could be that the residents in Butler County are more properly trained to drive cars as compared to Prunty County. Perhaps the citizens in Prunty County are not as law abiding as Butler County. If either of these scenarios turn out to be true, then the argument seems to fall apart. Thus, more information is required about both the regions to fairly evaluate whether the two counties are comparable or not.

Second, the proposal to reduce the number of accidents in Prunty assumes that majority of accidents were caused by drivers exceeding speed limits. It could be probable that the inverse is true that the slower driving cars in residential areas caused majority of the accidents. Perhaps most accidents occurred as a result of driving under the influence of alcohol on major highways at a slow speed. If this turns out to be true, then the recommendation of increasing the number of lanes may not be an effective plan to reduce accidents. Instead, more regulations are needed to penalize the people to not drive after alcohol consumption. Thus, evidences are required to evaluate alternative causes of accidents other than speed limit violations in Prunty County.

Third, the argument purports that the number of accidents in Butler county were 25 percent lower as compared to the accidents in the county five years ago. Reporting the percentage does not represent the total number of accidents. Hence, this information is vague as the actual number of accidents could be higher in Prunty County as compared to Butler County. If this turns out to be true, then the argument does not hold water. Thus, more details on the statistics of accidents is required to evaluate the argument.

In conclusion, the argument is wanting supporting evidences required to support the recommendations to reduce the number of accidents in Prunty County. Once the above asked evidences are provided with satisfactory details, further actions may be taken to improve road safety in Prunty County.