Science and technology will one day be able to solve all of society’s problems.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

The world has witnessed a huge stride in the advancement of science and technology in the past fifty years. From telephones to smart touch screen phones or from oversized slow computers to slim and fast ones, the field of technology has greatly benefited people along with improvement in overall lifestyle and solving society's problems. In future, if the pace of development in science continues at the same rate, one day if not all, most problems in a society will be solved.

The overall life expectancy of humans has impressively improved compared to the past century. People in current generation live for more longer time than before when there were little advancements in the medical field. With the help of science, now there are cures available for deadly diseases like cancer which in the past had no way to be cured. Although, cancer sometimes with the current complex medical procedures is not completely curable, it can be treated partially to prolong the life of a person unlike the past where there was no technique whatsoever. In the future, complete cures are possible if research in the field continues at good pace.

Supercomputers that are being perfected have a bright future to solve complex numerical problems in a very little time. For a scientist, things like cancer treatment procedures, spacecraft engines, etc can be modelled as a combination of complicated trigonometric, differential, non linear involved equations. These equations take months, if not weeks when solved using traditional computers, however supercomputers can solve them within hours. Thus with the help of such computers any problem in a society could be modelled as a differential equation and solved. Admittedly, the modelling of the problems cannot be done by computers, it involves mainly the human brain.

Arguably, sound judgement can not be done by science as it requires great wisdom of a person. This wisdom is achieved from great knowledge and previous experiences in the life of certain person. Even if these are programmed in robots to make judgements for crimes, there will always be unsuspected scenarios or loopholes that may be encountered while issuing sentences/taking decisions regarding a thief's crime.

From above, it is clear that science and technology will be able to solve almost all of the problems in a society. Few problems will require the intervention of human as with the current ideas and growth, science is impossible to grow into certain fields.