In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

The Author has shared his attempt to improve highway safety, in printy county by lowering the speed limit, but this effort has failed to decrease he number of accidents and in order to improve the highway safety the author wants to undertake the same kind of project that Butler county had taken five years ago. The argument seems genuine at first, however it includes some underlying assumptions which are questionable and render the argument spurious disproven.

First of all the author states the attempt taken to improve safety was to lower the speed limit from 55 to 45mph but it the effort failed, the failed effort above is not being supported by any emperical data provided by high survilance authority or the data management team of prunty county, After all the statement seems to be blatantly made without scrutinizing the actual data available without Highway authorities and lindly assuming that accidents have not decreased and author need to compare data of atleast 2-3 years in order to come to a conclusion.

Secondly, the author states that prunty bounty should undertake the same kind of project that butler county completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improvong visibility at damgerous intersections, but author fails to prove that prunty and butler bounty are similar such that in terms of traffic and percentage of accidents due to speed and due to short width of lanes, the butler county might have done the project because of increased traffic in butler county, thus aithor fails to show the similarities or comparisons between the

Butler and prunty bounty.

Going on, the author states that the accidents in butler have decreased after five years of project and the speed limit is maintained to 55mph, over here authors directly tries to some the comparison in percentages and not the numbers, there can be such a case that the accidents after 25% reduction in them might be more that what prunty bounty faces each year and the fact that speed limit might have reduced from 65mph or any higher value to 55mph thus fails to consider these facts into consideration

The author has assumed the enter scenario in a negative manner without scrutinizing the parameters in the situation and also undermines the fact that Butler county reported 25% reduction in number of cases after five years when the project was ready, thus the author author did not take into account any alternate solution.

The above assumptions undermine the authors argument brought up in the memo, Had the author considered better alternatives to their issue or situatuion and explicitly stated the memo itself , the argument would have been infallible.