In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The speaker is arguing for prunty county to employ same statics undertaken by butler County five years ago but the argument does not provide enough evidence to support the claims.

Firstly the argument failed to state if drivers of butler county were complaint or not. It was reported by high way patrol how drivers of prunty county flouted the speed limit. The speaker has too affirm the compliance of butler county to the speed limit.

Secondly the argument has to clearly state the number of road users. Comparing prunty and butler county is like comparing oranges and mangoes, prunty might have more high way drivers than butler increasing it's probability of accidents recorded for prunty county.

Thirdly location of its high ways, the location of these high ways were not stated, prunty could have most of its high way located in commercially dense areas but the viscisitude is the the case for bultler county.

In conclusion, if these questions are not answered, taking same steps as butler county will not yield any desirable effect.