In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patro

Although the following argument seems appealing at first, but upon careful examinations, it is full of flaws. Primarily the argument is based on the assumption that both the countries, Prunty and Butler, are similar, rendering its main conclusion, that undertaking the same kind of road improvement projects that took place in Butler country would improve highway safety, invalid.

Assuming both the countries to be similar to prove the argument right, is not persuasive at all. Maybe the Prunty country already has perfect lane widths, good visibility at intersections and already resurfaced highways but still the number of accidents that happen remain the same. Their maybe other factors that cause the accidents. Firstly, there may be low visibility due to atmospheric conditions like pollution, smog etc. And as a result, people can't see, beyond a few meters, what's in front of them even at low speeds in spite of the warning lights and other warning signs at the dangerous intersections. The argument would have been stronger if it had provided proper stats containing monthly recordings, to differentiate between summers and winters, of air pollution levels along with the visibility.

Moreover, the lack of proper law and order in the country may have led to the breaking of traffic rules and exceeding the speed limit audaciously by the masses. In addition, maybe the current population is impatient due to some tensions, social or political, prevailing in the masses or otherwise likes to break the rules recklessly. Furthermore, the inefficiency on the part of the government and other bodies to take proper actions towards road safety, may have led to non decrease in the number of accidents in the country despite of lowering the speed limits.

Last but not the least, the decrease in the number of accidents reported in the Butler Country may not have been due to the improvements in the highways but due to government actively taking part in initiating informational drives- making advertisements, displaying banners, organizing street plays- to educate its citizens about safety on roads and in making them familiar with the consequences of being impatient and doing reckless driving. Besides, it is quite possible that the traffic conditions may have improved and now there is much less traffic than it existed 5 years back. Or there may have been an inefficiency in reporting or many accidents may have went unreported which explains the 25% decrease in reported accidents. To strengthen the argument, proper stats containing the information about the traffic conditions that existed 5 years ago and that of the present would be required.

As the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that the number of accidents in Prunty Country would decrease after undertaking the same kind of road improvement project that took place in Butler country. If the argument had taken into account all the mentioned gaps, it would have been more persuasive.