"ON Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation , the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the Isalnd's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer.By limiting thenumber of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved by the nearby town Seaville last year, when seaville town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals"

The letter suggest that the number of accidents occuring in Balmer Island is due the the plethora of mopeds in the Island , and limiting the rentals of the moped is the best way to reduce the fatalities that occue due to use of the two wheeler. Here the author has left many loopholes that questions the conclusion given by the letter . Letter should have to be more precise to state such conclusion .

One of the many flaws is that , The author states that the population increase in Balmer Island is 100,000 during the summer months . Here , the author is not lucid about describing that the population found in Balmer Island is native to that Isalnd or number of visitors visiting the Island increases in the summer. Also, if there is increase in the population of the Island then there is no such suriety about the population uses the mopeds as their transportation mode. It might be the case that the population prefer to walk instead of hiring the mopeds , or take a public transportation.

Secondly, the letter asserts that the accident rate is high between mopeds and pedestrians. It is possible that the number of pedestrian in the Island is more as compared to the number of mopeds on th road . As, the pedestrian are more they can also be the reason for the fatalities occuring . One cannot simply blame the riders for the accidents occcuring on the road , pedestrian can be careless too.

Thirdly , it is given that the moped rentals have to curtailed because of the abundant cases of accidents . It cannot be predicted that by doing so the amount of mopeds found on the road will be reduced and eventually the accidents occuring will be reduced. There might be possible that the mopeds used are owned by the commuters of the Island and onlu a less amount of mopeds are rented from the reental shops.

Finally, the it is written that the policy of curtailing moped from 50 to 25 will reduce the accident rates by 50 percent because it was achieved last year by the Island next to it "Seaville". Here it is given that last year Seaville got 50 percent reduction in the accident rates but it is not mention about at what time in history it was implemented by that Island. If the implementation of this law is done long way in the past and those results are calculated last year and this law specifically is not much effective.

As, seen in the above argument about the loopholes and the main points that are left untouched by the author this ketter seems specious to me. Hence the author might have be more logical while writing this letter.