Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who still ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish margarine from butter, or they use the term "butter" to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the memorandum, author tells that throughout the southwestern United States Happy Pancake House have replaced butter with margarine still customers have very less impact. He further try to explain it with certain observations. Finally, he concludes that either customers cannot distinguish between butter and margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to butter or margarine. These seems to be logical firstly but as we give a close look we can point out certain alternative explanations.

Author makes a vague conclusion that customers are not complaining which means the replacement has little impact on customer. There may be a situation in which customer may not even make order for butter. They may have made a complaint but it has been misplaced. They may be thinking of giving second chance to restaurants to improve there behavior of manipulating customers. Due to such alternative possibilities, we cannot directly relate complaining action to impact on customer.

Furthermore, author states that recently butter is replaced with margarine throughout southwest United States restaurants. But he has not specified accurate time of replacement. This may give rise to possibility that he has been talking about a situation long long ago. He also says about replacement in southwest United States, but has not specified how many restaurants are in southwest United States? what about restaurants in other parts of United States? Are the explanations given only about southwest United States? Thus, the given statements are full of questionable arguments.

Moreover, author talks about an example that 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. This gives rise to several alternative possibilities. Whether these 100 people have purchased butter? Are these sample population from only southwest United States? Is the sample size used for survey enough? Is adequate feedback taken from customers? Such questions brings us to such state were we will not be able to accept the above claim.

Therefore, due to vague conclusion, inaccurate information and generalizing results are not at state of accepting authors claim that either customers cannot distinguish between butter and margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to butter or margarine.