Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who still ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish margarine from butter, or they use the term "butter" to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well.

The arguer defends a decision to replace butter with margarine in dishes of Happy Pancake House. The reasoning appears to be relatively sound at first glance. However, as more light is shed on the issue and detailed facts are concerned, it is easy to see that the argument suffers from grave fallacies in its assumptions.

First of all, the manager induces that because only 2% of clients complained, 98% are happy with this change. It is possible that majority of the 98% share are reticent and shy to speak up. The arguer does not provide any specifications of conditions the survey takes place under. It may be that customers fed with margarine will have long-term consequences and will come back to complain in future. The share of unsatisfied visitors in-retorpective will influence the current results.

In addition, it is also highly possible that those 98% were neither disgusted nor satisfied with their meal. They would have ordered more, if the first dish contained a butter. The served plates could be perceived as satisfactory but not savour. The quality stopped potentially new regular customers to come back again.

Last but not least, deception of customers with presenting of margarine as butter will eventually make a client go to a court. The manager has to include possible legal costs in the calculations of predicted profitability. Litigations may easily override the initially saved margin of the ingredients replacements.

Overall the argument is far from forceful enough to convince that all the butter in Happy Pancake House has to be replaced by margarine. Before introducing this change, the business manager has to thoroughly explore edge cases.