The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Government is an essential part of a society. It is essential to have an institution that can manage various aspects of a society such as health and education.

I tend to agree a suggestion that wellbeing of a society is enhanced when authorities are questioned by members of the society.

Leading IT companies such as Google and Netflix champion for a transparent culture and promote continuous feedback. Continuous feedback initiative makes a manager and a subordinate consistently exchange their feedbacks and challenge each other. Such an approach helps these companies to evolve because it ensures that a manager and individual contributor are on the same page. Furthermore, continuous feedback allows to immediately act in case of any discrepancies. If any of participants disagree, an opponent can either prove its correctness or pivot and adapt.

I believe governments have to be constantly questioned by their countries' citizens. Prosperous countries have elections to regularly ask for people's opinion and let citizens choose whom to entrust their future. Fair elections help countries to evolve because they account for input of different layers of citizens and, eventually, help society to reach a consensus. Usually, governments do not require to deal with rocket science to improve well being of a society. It is sometimes enough to maintain equal access to a country's goods among different groups of people to promote self awareness and let people decide how to dispose what they have in the most efficient way. In this form elections are inevitable to hear voice of everyone.

Nevertheless, it is always important to keep a balance and allow authorities to act quickly and autonomously in case of emergencies. Such a level of independcy can be entrusted to a government through elections.