Question Authority. Only by questioning accepted wisdom we can advance our understanding of the world.

Humans has been evolving constantly from the beginning. Over the course of its advancement, several decisions have been taken for the humans, by the humans to improve themselves. Not all decisions, however, have given outcomes as expected. There are various cases where the decisions have been questioned upon by others to understand its outcomes and to determine if it is beneficial. Thus, it can absolutely be agreed upon that only by questioning, we can improve our understanding of the world. Following paragraphs put forward various examples in support of given statement.

Firstly, in democracies like India, questions are constantly being fired by the opposition to the ruling party about its policies and decisions. Democracy is structured in such a way that it consists a system of checks and balances. Every decision is firstly presented as a bill which must secure majority of confidence in the parliament, which consists of the Ruling Party, the Opposition, and the neutrals, before it can be implemented as an act. In doing so, the ruling party must answer all the questions satisfactorily. It acts as a system of checks because without such an arrangement, the ruling party has every power to pass any act it deems fit.

Secondly, in the world of science, even before its formal introduction, several theories have been put forward by many philosophers like Euler. One of such theories is the density of substances. In his theory, Archimedes postulated that substances having mass per unit weight less than water float and all other substances sink. This theory was developed without any scientific experiment. It was based only upon his thoughts. As time passed on, several scientists questioned this theory and tried to find an explanation by conducting various experiments. However, upon a formal scientific experiment, it was proved otherwise. Hence, it was discarded. Thus, asking questions to the generally accepted truth helped us in understanding the world in a better and correct way.

Moreover, to gain a better understanding of how things work, asking questions is a very crucial process. Scientists continuously keep posing questions how things work. For example, one of the very first question in fundamental science was ‘what is matter composed of?’ Upon finding answer to this question was ‘what is the smallest, indivisible unit that forms the basis of everything in the universe? Then a question was posed that “what is that smallest unit composed of?” and so on. It is evident that by asking questions, scientists have been able to dive deeper and deeper into a topic and because of that, Atom, which was considered to the smallest, indivisible unit of everything in this universe is composed of various other smaller particles like electrons and protons which itself can be isolated from the atom. Hence, questioning the generally accepted wisdom helps us in understanding it better, as well as helps in constantly improving it.

Thus, blindly accepting the general truth put forward can mislead us. Questioning it not only helps in understanding it better, it helps to constantly improve it over the course of time, which also enhances our understanding of the world.