The city council of Town X has proposed reducing the city’s electric expenses by switching all the lights in public buildings from incandescent bulbs to light-emitting diodes (LEDs). The switch would be made gradually as the old incandescent bulbs burn out, and the city council reasons that since LED lights burn brighter and cost no more to purchase, the switch would help Town X save money on electrical costs in the future

The claim of the argument takes help of many unwarranted assumptions and if these assumptions do not hold true, the argument falls flat.

The claim does not consider the fact that the total electrical costs is a sum of running costs and installation costs, since it has only mentioned that LEDs are brighter and hence would cost less. It might be true that lesser number of lights might be required to generate same lux as of older bulbs which might result into lesser running costs, but there is no answer to question of installation costs. Even though the LED's cost same as incandescent bulbs, it is possible that the installation cost of the LEDs are very high since it might need some special electrical supply requiremnts or some special expensive fittings for installation. The argument fails to address these questions and if the answer to these questions is that the installation costs are very high, then it seriously weakens the argument of the council.

Besides this, the argument fails to answer the question of reliability and running life of LEDs. The argument states that, the council will save money in the future by installing LED lights, but there is no clarity on running life of these lights, there is a possibility that the running hours for LEDs is less than existing lights and hence might need more frequent replacements, thereby increasing maintenance costs, which seriously weakens the claims of the council.

Apart from the points above, the argument does take into consideration the fact that, these brighter lights might be unsuitable for certain applications where the council is planning such replacements. For example, brighter lights may cause irritation to patients in a public hospital or to the clerk at the desk of a government office. Besides this, there is also a possibility that the environment where the council is planning to install the LEDs might not suit the lights, such as, in a government laboratory, there are chances that the LEDs are vulnerable to certain gases generated in the laboratory. In such cases, LEDs will fail more often and hence will lead to high maintenance costs, which undermines the claims of the argument.

The argument makes use of several unstated assumptions that can challenge its claim and hence the conclusion of the argument is not completely valid unless it addresses these unwarranted assumptions.