The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones

All individuals are bound to do some negative actions all through their learning period. the onus lies on the teacher, on how to act upon the mistakes. getting praised about some good action may create a more positive learning environment but, acknowledging the mistakes and correcting them is the attitude that makes most the individuals most successful and for this to happen, the negative actions cannot be ignored and must be pointed out.

The gist of teaching and learning methodologies is finding out mistakes and correcting them. From the teacher's point of view, first step to correct a negative action is to recognize one and point it out and from a learners point of view, first step is to acknowledge the mistake. this leaching-learning technique can be extended to all the environments, may it be at home or school. on the onset, the pointed out mistakes may unsettle the learner, but in the long term, these pointed out mistakes help an individual to succeed in future endeavors. Had it not been for the corrected mistakes, there would have been no new inventions from the scientists or revolutionary movements from leaders.

Moreover, most important part of a learning process is to learn from the negative actions. a negative action leading to failure, will always do so, unless it is corrected and replaced by a positive action. Imagine a school going child getting yelled at for copying the homework. this might seem like an insignificant negative action, but on the contrary, ignoring it may make the child think that this is a norm and can be repeated. this is the wrong message that a learner develops when the mistakes get ignored. Yelling on other end, may seem outrageous to the child initially but it is for his own good.

However, it is equally important to recognize and praise the good actions that a learner does. this creates an overall better learning environment and keeps the learner motivated to repeat the good deeds. Failing to praise the learner for the good actions may have even worse consequences, where the learner loses the faith in the teaching system.

While, praising the good actions is one of the most important things to do as a teacher, pointing out negative actions and getting them corrected is equally important for a teacher.