The best way to measure a country's progress is by its level of education and healthcare.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Progress is the measure of how well a specific thing does, relative to an agreed metric. As important as the measuring of progress is, is as invaluable the right measurement is.

Different society/country, based on an end result can determine what is best to measure, how and to what purpose, in other to carefully identify success, and weak areas, as when performance is measured and reported back, growth is inevitable.

This can be addressed in two spectrums: Society A, where education and healthcare are the only lack area in which success and growth is noticed; Society B where, in addition to these two, other metrics, identified and agreed are lacking.

Society A: In this society, the following metrics have been identified as a means for monitoring: Healthcare, Education, Indusrialization, Employment index. In the regular monitoring, it was discovered that the healthcare and educational sector are experiencing a dwindling, as against other metric. The focusing on improving this two sector, whilst not neglecting other metric entirely will prove more productive than still focusing evenly on all sectors. Here, in this situation, more work is needed in these two sectors.

Society B: Assuming this sector has also identified the same metric, and upon review, all sectors are below 30%, measuring and saying progress is only determined by the health and educational sector would not be representative of the amount of work needed to be done to recover. On this premise, progress is very subjective, depending of different factors, region and goals.

However, it is important to identify and understand the domino effect of all metrics in a society, before a more holistic conclusion can be made.

A society/country that has more of the uneducated populace with the greater percentage will mean that more than half of the population are not employable in that country. If this is so, what happens to one of the progress metric identified above? The population, would not be able to work, thus decreasing employability index by a great percentage. This can also be seen in the healthcare sector, or industralisation, which would be saying that there are no industral breakthroughs in the nation, no medical equipment or ready staff. This will definitely show an unhealthy populace, which means little/no working population, and little or no economic growth. So, clearly identifying all relevant metrics, and a proper understanding of their interdependency is very important, as this will clearly highlight how best progress and development should be monitored.

Some school of thought might argue that education and health is most important, because on this two foundations are the rest of the metrics built on. This is true, but not wholesomely so. Indeed, an educated and healthy population is indicative of a positively thriving society, but not entirely. The data from combining different metric system will tell you where the concentrated effort of the 'healthy and educated' population is. Are these people working? And if so, what is the level of their work? Is the agricultural sector maximally being harnessed? If not, what is the problem? Thus, you see that it is as important to track the foundations of metrics, as well its derivatives.

Conclusively, as varying as societies are, is as different as the progress indicators can mean. Thus it is necessary to clearky identify these metrics, and work in understanding.