The city council of Town X has proposed reducing the city’s electric expenses by switching all the lights

in public buildings from incandescent bulbs to light-emitting diodes (LEDs). The switch would be made

gradually as the old incandescent bulbs burn out, and the city council reasons that since LED lights burn

brighter and cost no more to purchase, the switch would help Town X save money on electrical costs in the

future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to help evaluate the

efficacy of the city council’s proposal to save money on electrical costs. Be sure to explain how the

answers to these questions would help to evaluate the council’s prediction.

While it may be true that switching all the light in public buildings from incandescent bulbs to light emitting diodes may reduce the city’s electric expenses, the author leaves us with certain questions that should be answered to prove the validity of this argument.

The author is assuming that incandescent bulb is the only reason for the high electric expense in the city and changing it will automatically reduce the expense. What if there are other high power consuming devices used in the city such as billboards, traffic lights and many others that actually contribute to the high expense. It could even be other household equipments that is the reason for this high expense and these other areas were totally ignored by the author. A credible survey should have been carried out by the author to prove that other things do not account for the high electric expense.

Additionally, the author states that the led light cost no more to purchase. Does this mean that the led light and the incandescent bulb could be the same price. If they are of the same price, the the author’s argument that the expenses would reduce will need more facts to prove how getting a led bulb of the same price with the incandescent bulb would reduce the city’s electric expense. He also stated that the led bulb burns brighter to back up the assumption. We do not know what other type of bulb he was comparing the led bulb with.

The author also assumes that replacing an already existing incandescent bulb with leds would automatically reduce the expense. The author does not take into account the additional expenses the leds might cause them. For example, the wiring for leds might be totally different from that of incandescent bulb. They would have to replace the entire wiring, costing them more expense for workmanship and new wires. It could even be that all other electronic devices in the city were designed to work with only incandescent bulb making the entire process cost the city more. To strengthen his argument, the author will need to prove that changing this bulbs will have no other cost implications.

The author automatically assumes that the city would not need to purchase an electronic device or equipments in the future by stating that the switch will help town x to save money on electrical costs in the future. This leaves us questioning if the town would never spend on any other device again. Building upon the implication of these other things that the author failed to account for, he might need to carry out more credible research to prove the validity of this argument.