"The city of Grandview has provided annual funding for the Grandview Symphony since the symphony's inception ten years ago. Last year the symphony hired an internationally known conductor, who has been able to attract high-profile guest musicians to perform with the symphony. Since then, private contributions to the symphony have doubled and attendance at the symphony's concerts-in-the-park series has reached new highs. Now that the Grandview Symphony is an established success, it can raise ticket prices. Increased revenue from larger audiences and higher ticket prices will enable the symphony to succeed without funding from the city government."

The written memo above states that Grandview symphony is now quite well established and is a running business, therefore there is no need for the government to provide funding. Although the reasons given to validate this statement seem to be acceptable at first, however, the argument is flawed with different logical issues.

The first fallacy is that symphony is apparently making profits and can increase revenue by raising ticket prices without any counter problems that might arise. since there is no clear evidence provided to support this, further data is necessary to verify this. Futhermore, as per rules of economics, we know that if the prices of products or services is increased, then the demand decreases, hence the overall profit might decrease. so, this argument is fallacious since it defines common sense.

THe second problem with this argument is that since the international artist was called to attend their show last year, their profits will definitely continue to increase and the popularity of their shows has not subsided. they might have experienced temporary rise in profits, but if they have not been able to entertain the crowd for the past year or so, then people are unlikely to pay higher prices. Furthermore, no information is provided about the demography of the people who attend their concert. The people who attended their concerts 10 years ago might have been teenagers but now that they are entering middle age, they might not be interested.

Last but not least, the amount of government funding and the operating costs of the symphony has not been mentioned. It is likely, that without the donations, symphony will not be able to bear the running costs of the concerts and hence will be forced to shut down.

Therefore, with the analytical flaws described, I am of the view that without further evidence and data as to the amount of money, the number of people who attend concerts and the demography of their customers, the strategy of stopping the allocation of government assisted funding is likely to havea negative impact on the business.