The city of Winston has two large department stores: Namen and Roscoe. Namen is known for its high-end designer fashions, while Roscoe is known for more affordable fashion options. Both Namen and Roscoe are each considering opening another store in the growing suburb of Salem, where the population has grown over 50% in the last three years and where the median income is $75,000. Namen’s executives argue that as population and median income increase, people are willing to spend more money on clothing. However, Roscoe’s executives believe that the suburbs are more family oriented, and therefore their store will be more profitable than their competitor Namen.

The argument posits a very complicated issue. A lot of assumptions are being made in the argument and hence various aspects are ought to be addressed. Firstly, the argument mentions the genres of two different stores and specifies the reason why each of them feels that their store will flourish. Further, the provided data is insufficient in a number of ways and is quite absurd in its relation to the issue. The store named Namen is known for its high-end designer fashions whereas the store named Roscoe is known for more affordable fashion options.

Let us start by addressing the statement of Namen's executive. The most important relationship is developed between the median income of the suburb of Salem and the expected rise in the sale of the Namen store. Median by no means can provide us the required data whether people are willing to spend more money on fashion designers or not because the median is just the income of the person in the middle of a list of all the people with an income arranged in increasing order. For example, if there are 99 people in the town and when arranged in increasing order of their income, the income of the 50th person is the median of the income of that town. This could mean that the 49 people below the median may have a very low income or close to the 50th person and the 49 people above the median can have a very high income or very close to the income of the 50th person. This data absolutely provides nothing in order to predict the sale of the store Namen.

Likewise, the store Roscoe will flourish if the majority of the people below the median income are small-earning families or vice-versa. Another aspect which should be addressed is the data which says that the population has grown over 50% in the past 3 years. What was the population of the suburb three years ago is another question to be answered. If the population was very small, 50% increase in population would also be negligible and considering the fact that the stores are large, their expected revenue might not go according to the plan and both of the stores might suffer a great loss.

Hence, the argument lacks depth and fails to address various questions regarding before arriving at the conclusion. More telling data regarding the population and the mean income is required in order to reinforce the argument. The size of the store and their required revenue to thrive should also be addressed explicitly. A proper survey of the people living in the suburbs of Salem should also be conducted to know whether the people are more family-oriented or are more lavish in their lifestyle.