The city of Winston has two large department stores Namen and Roscoe Namen is known for its high end designer fashions while Roscoe is known for more affordable fashion options Both Namen and Roscoe are each considering opening another store in the gr

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons. The Namen departmental stores make an assumption that the denizens of Salem are going to spend on opulent designer fashions whereas the Roscoe department stores assume that the suburbs are more family-oriented and thus profitable than their peers.

Firstly, the argument fails to consider the already present departmental stores in Salem. It is possible that there is a department store which offers high-end designer fashions at a lower rate than Namen. There is no reason for the denizens of Salem to either switch to Namen and Roscoe as they already have a better alternative. A thorough survey needs to be done on the already existing departmental stores.

Further, Namen's argument that people are going to spend on ostentatious designer fashion and Rascoe's argument on the undergird that the city if Salem has a medium-income of $75,000, is seriously flawed. If there are hundred people in the city and fifty of them have an income of $1 and fifty of them have an income of $10000 that would make the medium income a little over $5000. It is possible that the fifty per cent of the population is opulent and the other fifty indigents. This is not beneficial to both Roscoe and Namen. Medium income is not the correct gauge to make predictions that the people are going to shop at their respective stores. Mode income and also the average income must be taken into account in this case.

After taking the aforesaid points into account, it can be observed that the argument fails to be compelling at its best and disingenuous at its worst. The size of the store and their required revenue to thrive should also be addressed explicitly. A proper survey of the people living in the suburbs of Salem should also be conducted to know whether the people are more family-oriented or are more lavish in their lifestyle. It can further be improved by taking into considerations the heretofore mentioned suggestions.