Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather thans fostering an increase."

With the information provided, the assumption leading to conclusion remains unfounded. This argument is well presented yet far-fetched. This assumption claims that commuters complain that heavy traffic on Blue Highway has leaded to increasing their commuting time. Furthermore, they selected several solutions for this event such as adding an additional lane, adding a bicycle lane to the highway. Hence the conclusion is ill-founded.

The primary assumption underlying the author's assumptions is that adding a bicycle lane to highway which would be a great approach for this challenge. Nevertheless, he fails to preclude other possibility that this solution would not be practical for all due to the fact that majority of people utilize bicycle as a recreation not transportation. As a matter of fact, they may not willing to use bicycle for transportation owing to inclement weather. Beside, other believes that using bicycle would be time consuming without a shadow of doubt.

Furthermore, the author of the assumption should answer this question that what is a major traffic jam on Green Highway. However, he fails to take other possible reason into account that it might be possible that others factor like repairer works on the roads that might have developed potholes. In fact, answering this question is greatly vital that are Blue and Green highway similar condition? Perhaps their geographical situation and density population are disparate each other. Want of such prudent answers to make other assumption full of holes. So. to reinforce the argument the author should have provided information about position both highway, other multiple aspect for traffic congestion which is considerably imperative.

Moreover, the author of the statement has suggested using bicycle is not prudent due to several point like, distance. We all know that distance has a pivotal role in reaching to destination. In fact, some paths are considerably long, cyclists leading to exhaustion even before reaching their destination. Some days, whether is cold or highly hot. It became arduous for rider to commute is such an extreme climate. So, to reinforce the argument the author should have provided information about that commuting through bicycle is feasible or not.

In short, as discussed, this conclusion cannot be tenable. The author of the statement should have discussed about detail of both highway, further investigation about main reason for heavy traffic. Moreover, whether using bicycle is feasible for all or not which last point is an indispensable criteria. On the other hand to make a rigid conclusion is very myopic observation method. After all, feckless attempt with a fallible method could be noting a fool's errand.