Company X has just switched to a 4-day workweek, mandating that employees work 10 hours per day from Monday to Thursday instead of 8 hours per day from Monday to Friday. Although the policy is new, Company X claims that the policy will help to increase profits by shutting down offices on Fridays and to boost employee morale by reducing commuting time to and from work each week.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the arguments if the assumptions are unwarranted.

company X, in their policy of decreasing the work days from 5 to 4 and increasing the per day work hours from 8 to 10, expects profits due to the office being closed at friday and employee satisfaction due to the presumed reduced time of commute to work. this argument seems intuitive in a superficial level with optimistic assumptions. The assumptions made by company X seems reasonable in the sense of most trivial perception of human behaviour and cost cutting. However, the critacal analyser would see how the change of these assumptions would affect the validity of the argument. The ctitical analyser would analyse the explicitly and implecitly mentioned in the argument for this task.

company X suggest that it will be exposed to increased profits as it will be able to be closed on friday. The underlynig assumptio here is that due to the closure, the utility costs incurred in the form of light, heat and likes would not happen at for a total day, which would be of excess to that of cumulitative additional two hours in the rest of 4 days. this assumption needs clarifiacation. For example, the additional 2 hours may imply the work day dragging into the night time. In such a case, there would be more utility costs incurred in the form of additional lighting, which may not have been the case in previous 8 hour work days. thus the new poicy might have included additional costs, let alone reducing them. thus the assumption of elongated per day work hours and reduced one day is critical for the validity of this argument.

The next major concern of company X seems to be the employee morale. They convey that by reducing number of days, the commute time of employees would reduce, hence boosting employee morale. one underlying assumption used here is that the nature of the commute that the employees would take after the 8 hour and 10 hour shifts would be the same. this assumption may have some implicit weakness. For example, if the commute after the 8 hour shift falls on a more eased traffic time than after the 10 hour shift, the employees would experience more time in traffic under the new policy. this would lead to employee frustration, clearly contradicting the intended outcomes of the policy. thus, this assumption needs critical evaluation, for the intended outcomes to be achieved.

Another underlying assumption with regard to boosting employee morale with this policy is that employees would feel insigificant or no difference in 10 hour shifts than the 8 hour shifts. this assumption may not true. For example, the employees may be currently working at a per day full capacity. In such a case the additional 2 hours would either lead to employee frustration, or reduced productivity. Both these outcomes heavily undermines the two main outcomes intended by company X.

The argument, though seems intuitive and reasonable level on the surface level, contain several critical underlying assumptions. While the correctness of these assumption would shed a green light on the policy, critical analysis show that these assumption can easily be false, making the conlusion of the argument invalidated.