Company X has just switched to a 4-day workweek, mandating that employees work 10 hours per day from Monday to Thursday instead of 8 hours per day from Monday to Friday. Although the policy is new, Company X claims that the policy will help to increase profits by shutting down offices on Fridays and to boost employee morale by reducing commuting time to and from work each week.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Recently Company X has decided to have a 4-day workweek and the workers will have to work for 10 hours each day for four days of the week (Monday-Thursday) instead of 8 hours per day for 5 days from Monday to Friday. The reason for this move as per stated by the company is to boost the profits and the company also belives that this will also boost the morale of the employees. However the claim made by the company does not seem to be reasonable and there seems to be some assumptions behind this move.

Firstly the company clearly does not take in account the working stamina of the employees. Humans unlike machines cannot maintain their efficiency of work all the time. Towards the end of their shifts/ working hours one does get exhausted and after the energy is drained it is hard to keepup the pace and efficiency of work. So when the company extens two hours in daily shifts to shorten the a day in a working week it does not see that this will not be helpfull for boosting the company output. Neighter does the company mention whether they survyed the company employees before taking the decision, do they feel positive about the new decision or no? Instead it would have been better to have a day extra rather than adding the hours to the daily shiftbecause the workers could start fresh and full of energy the next day.

The company did not mention if they had carried out a survey regarding this decision or atleast they consulted the employees. It is possible that the employees did prefer the previous working schedule given the demands of the job. For instance if the employees work is intensly physical then towards the end of the day it would be impossible for them to carry out 2 extra hours of work. In this situation the workers would rather prefer to have a working Friday instead of having to comprimise 2 hours extra daily for one day off. The company does not mention how would this boost the profits of the company. Even if the employees are able to maintain the same pace of work throught the shift which actually is not possible, but even then they will be working for same number of hours in a week as they did previously.

The company also mentions that the new working week schedule will boost the employee's moral as this will be reducing their daily travel time. They did not provid any supporting proofs or data for this claim. It is assumed that all the workers need to travel for significant of time daily to reach the work place. However it is also possible that the employees stay nearby and they do not have to come from far away and commuting time is not be very significant. Then this reason solely won't be sufficient to boost the morale of the employees.

In conclusion the company clearly makes some assumptions . And the overall claim does not seem to be reasonable at all. Neighter the company provides any supporting proofs and data, which indeed would have strengthen the claim. However the company fails to do so while stating their claim.