Company X has just switched to a 4-day workweek, mandating that employees work 10 hours per day from Monday to Thursday instead of 8 hours per day from Monday to Friday. Although the policy is new, Company X claims that the policy will help to increase profits by shutting down offices on Fridays and to boost employee morale by reducing commuting time to and from work each week.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author contends in the mentioned argument that switching to 4-day workweek of 10 hours from 5 day workweek of 8 hours per day will increase the profits of the company as it will boost the morale of the employees due to reduced commuting time.From my perspective I completely disagree with this claim as it rests on invalid assumptions which are also incomplete. Author has failed to gather enough information before asserting this claim. The reason for my disagreement with the author has been explicated in the below mentioned paragraphs.

Firstly, I would like to bring up the issue with the assumptions that author has made about working 10 hours for 4 days will be more productive than 8 hours for 5 days. Author fails to look at the bigger picture and his approach is very myopic. He fails to take into account the fatigue that overpowers the human vigor which comes with long working hours. Most of the people are unable to show the same level of focus or maintain the same level of concentration at work for increased duration in time. Strained eyes, if its a job where employee is required to work with the bright screens or may it be tired muscles, if the job demands physical strength, in both the cases there is a possibility that though the company is looking for increased productivity, the results may turn otherwise.

Secondly, as stated by the author, this policy is new. Hence I would like to bring an attention to the fact that there is no proof or assurity that this policy will provide a sure shot boom in terms of profit as it is a fledgling one. Thus in order to make the mentioned claim more cogent author should have explicated a substantial precedent in the argument where it has been a success taking any reference of some company Y which sells similar product and has succeeded with this policy. That point would definitely bolster author's point to some extent.

Thirdly, Author's claim does not take into consideration the other important factors which are responsible for increasing a company's profits which are, the products that they are selling, the market influence on the revenue, the government's role, availability of raw materials etc. Therefore considering only one factor and that is the increased productivity of Employees by reducing number of work days is not persuasive enough. Employee productivity is indeed an important factor but not the sole parameter to define the increment in profit. Also, reduced working days do not guarantee the success in terms of profit either, as evident in my essay.

Additionally, this strategy of replacing 5-day workweek with 4- day workweek will boost employee's morale Company as it saves the efforts and commute time is again a moot point. This point can be challenged as author has once again failed to understand that there are various other motivations that employee could be seeking for. Something that would boost his zeal and enthusiasm towards work. There is a fair possibility that employee has absolutely no issues with commute time instead he is looking for some other incentives like wage hike, a promotion or seeking for an oppertunity to work in their business established in foreign land.

Hence, even though the argument maintained by the author looks appealing in the first look but has many inline flaws as the author has based his assumptions on fallacious pillars or reasons which are also incomplete and lack the insightful information to make such claim. All the loopholes stated in the essay are full fledged proof for my opinion.