The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author in the mentioned argument contends that due to the reduction in the allocation of time to the local and weather new, it has lost some business because the local advertising contractors have canceled their contracts with the television station under discussion. Also, there are compaints concerned with the station's coverage of weather due to which the author asserts that devoting time to weather and local news to its former level will avoid losing further business and attract more viewers. The author's conclusion is standing on incomplete and fallacious premises which can be falsified on multiple grounds.

Starting with the first sentence where the author claims that their television is devoting increased time to national news and less time for local and weather news. Mere puting forth a statement without backing it up with certain evidences like the average bifurcation of time that they are alloting to these three categories leaves the argument unconvincing. Any report of time allocated on daily basis to these categories would have helped. Currently, we are unsure of the timing.

Another point, where the complaints are received from the viewers are on the coverage of the local news and the weather. These complaints,could be more over the quality of the news they are covering, if the news captured is something like someone slipping over the banana peel, then increasing as much time as the station wants on such ridiculous news can not help them gain more viewers or even revenue. Any survey that talks specifically about the locals issue could have bolstered the author's argument.

Thirdly, what needs a special attention is thet the local advertisers who used to give their advertisements for late night news program have cancelled their contract, which could also mean that the advertising companies have realized that they are unable to attract attention of the people during late hours and may have planned to shift their advertising hours to early during the day. Until enogh evidence is shown where adverting companies have issue specifically with the station's allocation of time, the argument can be considered week and the conclusion likely to be subjected to errors.

Thus, considering the explaination provided above, this argument is week and leaves gaps due to which the attacks on it are indefensible. More detailed analysis of the issue and the arriving at a conclusion with more facts and figures evinced could strengthen his argument and make it more cogent, cohesive and unassailable.