Cot-Ten, a cotton production company, has recently faced profitability issues based on the use of

Chemical X in its manufacturing process. The main by-product produced when using Chemical X is

covered under stringent environmental regulations, making it very difficult and expensive to dispose of. A

similar processing product, Chemical Y, has recently been discovered, and can be used by Cot-Ten at a

minimal cost of switching. The CEO of Cot-Ten has declared that the company will increase profits by

switching to Chemical Y by the end of the month.

Cot-Ten is looking to improve its profitability by addressing the issues it has faced due to using Chemical X. There are several questions that must be addressed before confirming that switching to Chemical Y will resolve these issues.

First, this argument mentions that Chemical Y has “recently been discovered”. This could mean that the governing bodies that imposed regulations on the use of Chemical X may or may not have had the opportunity to evaluate Chemical Y yet. If the enviornmental regulations imposed on Chemical X are the main reason that it is prohibitively expensive and Chemical Y is a similar compound, how do we know that there won’t be similar regulations handed down regarding the use of Chemical Y? If Cot-Ten were to dedicate the resources to switching to Chemical Y only to face comprable challenges in the future, the ultimate cost of switching to Chemical Y could be higher than if Cot-Ten simply continued using Chemical X. Cot-Ten’s consumers could also be wary to purchase a product that is processed with a new, possibly unknown chemical. If consumers hesitate to purchase from Cot-Ten, there could be a decrease in revenue for this reason.

Additionally, this argument only states that Chemical Y is “a similar processing product” to Chemical X. Two similar products do not necessarily have the same effects or require the same level and process of usage. Without more information about exactly how Chemical Y would function in the place of Chemical X, it is impossible to fully evaluate the decision to switch. Perhaps Cot-Ten would actually have to use significantly more Chemical Y than Chemical X to achieve the same product, making the switch more expensive. Perhaps Chemical Y will create a product with slightly different qualities than the product created by Chemical X and Cot-Ten’s consumers will not want to purchase the new product.

This argument also notes that the cost of switching to use Chemical Y will be minimal, but does not indicate the ongoing cost of purchasing Chemical Y will be in comparison to the cost of purchasing Chemical X. As stated before, we also do not know if the amount of Chemical Y will needed will be equal to the amount of Chemical X Cot-Ten uses. Cot-Ten needs to obtain these two specific pieces of information in order to calculate the actual, recurring cost of using Chemical Y. If Chemical Y costs the same as Chemical X, but has to be used in a higher volume, the switch will be more expensive. If Chemical Y costs more than Chemical X but requires smaller quantities, then the switch could cost a comparable amount.

The CEO of Cot-Ten may also wish to consider the current climate of consumers demanding ethical practices and transparency of companies. Though this sentiment is perhaps harder to quantify, Cot-Ten could, through a survey, evaluate whether its consumers would increase their brand loyalty in response to Cot-Ten taking actions that the public perceives to be eco-conscious. Cot-Ten may not need to cut production costs if they can instead increase revenue. Consumers may respond positively to Cot-Ten committing to using Chemical X as outlined in the environmental regulations rather than switching to a new and unknown chemical. If so, the solution to this quandry may lie with Cot-Ten’s marketing department, rather than the production line.

Ultimately the CEO’s instinct to substitute a less regulated chemical in order to increase profits by saving on costs is an understandable one, but there are a number of questions that need to be considered before Cot-Ten moves forward. Researching the questions raised above could help Cot-Ten forestall unintended consequences of an ill-conceived decision.