The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In regards to the survey released recently, there is an assumption formed to achieve the conclusion that student who are assigned homework no more than two or three days per week would do better, and thus, the author asserted that teachers in she or he's school should assign homework in this frequency. However, this assumption is not necessarily supported through evidence and is therefore open to further scrutiny.

First, homework is the tool accompanied by teachers' teaching content. Teachers would use assignments as a supplement, which should be designed highly connected to the different needs for each class. Doing homework in a daily frequency, however, would prepare students with the ability and habit to review what they learn that day. If there is anything they could not figure out, they could aware of that immediately while doing their assignment. On the other hand, doing homework twice a week might cause students to forget or ignore the essential information in lectures. Therefore, doing homework is more important related to the teaching content and method but not frequency.

Second, the main content of homework is essential when discussing the relationship between score-earning and frequency of homework-assigned. Some assignments are meant for remembering--students could equip themselves with a sense of familiarity with certain subjects. In contrast, the other homework is assigned to cultivate student with the ability of independent researching. Apparently, these two kinds of homework are totally different, and could not be discussed in the same standard. In the previous passage, there is no further information about the content of homework, it is not rational to compare student performance from these two districts by the time they are assigned homework in a week.

Third, despite these aspects of homework, frequency, content, and links with teaching, it is dangerous to ignore the various environment to these two districts, Marlee and Sanlee. Learning environment, however, plays a more critical role when it comes to learning performance. For example, in the survey--Where do students of National Taiwan University come from-it is claimed that families which are wealth and stable are more likely to foster their children to get into the best university in Taiwan. Obviously, this key point, family condition, is something neglected by this author and left a great and manifest flaw in this survey. We could have no idea about the circumstance with these two districts, it would be ridiculous to compare students in Upper town, New York with students from the countryside.

By these three reasons demonstrated above, the link to the teaching, the content of homework, and the difference of learning environment, we could lead to an assertion that the relationship between frequency of assignment and student performance in earning school is not that highly directed as the author implied, and therefore, the method the school in the passage would like to apply to improve learning effect is not assigning homework no more than twice a week, but conducting learning frame as a whole.