The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

From the survey conducted the author has concluded that students of Sanlee must be given home twice a week to earn high overall grades. However, the author has made an argument based some assumption that if not substantiated might dramatically weaken the argument.

In the first place, the author claims that based on his survey conducted on the Science and math teachers and concluded that the amount of homework given to the student is less or more based on the these two subjects. However, there is a probability that other subjects might give much more homework to children in Marlee than the students on Sanlee. The author has did not provide the details of number of schools ad number of teachers of schools he interviewed. If he simply consulted two or three school from each district to conclude his survey then this claims that giving less homework in maths and science encouraged the students to get good grades are not warranted.

Scond, the author presumes that the homework given to the students has a direct implication on the overall grades. However, there is a possibility that the amount of homework received by the students of Sanlee everyday is lesser than the amount of homework received by the students of Marlee twice a week. Perhaps the author has only mentioned about two subjects and he did not provide any evidence regarding homework given by other subject teachers. The assumption also depends on the intellectual capacity of the students and it is likely that students from Marlee are more intelligent than students from Sanlee. If any of these above mentioned scenarios hold true then, the author’s contentions that the homework given to the students have a direct connection with the grades they pursue does not hold water.

Thirdly, it is highly doubtful that if students were not given any homework they will concentrate to study for there exams. Perhaps it is likely that students might play games, watch TV or do other activities in the free time. There is another probability that students who get daily homework might read and revise all the concepts given in the homework instead of studying them separately. If it is true that student will concentrate more if they are given homework then the author’s assertions are flawed and his suggestion that less homework allows student to concentrate might be dubious and these recommendation will do a little to convince school board to implement the twice a week homework rule.

In summary, it is possible that the students receiving homework everyday have a direct impact on their grades. However, as it stands, the argument relies on the three unfounded assumptions that renders its conclusion unpersuasive at best and species at worst. Thus, the author has to support his argument with additional evidences