"During the past year, workers at Butler Manufacturing reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. A recent government study reports that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents. If we shorten each of our work shifts by one hour, we can improve Butler Manufacturing's safety record by ensuring that our employees are adequately rested."

The argument states that according to the government study, Butler Manufacturing should introduce shorter shifts to avoid accidents. However, the argument doesn’t consider some important factors like the nature of the government study, differences in the nature of jobs the employees perform in the two different companies, whether all the accidents are reported in the other company etc.

The government study claims that fatigue and sleep deprivation are significant factors in many on the job accidents. But it fails to mention what kinds of jobs fall under the categories of the study and if the study actually relates to the accidents reported in Butler Manufacturing. So to come to a decision we have to know in detail about the study performed.

The argument also compares Butler Manufacturing to Panoply Industries. But we don’t know if their employees perform same kind of job. For them to be comparable the jobs have to be similar in nature. Job nature in Butler Manufacturing may be more risky than that of Panoply Industries. Also,the argument fails to investigate the reasons behind the accidents in Butler Manufacturing. There might be lack of awareness among the employees, which leads to more on the job accidents. If that is the case, then employee training program on safety should be initiated instead of shortening work shifts.

Butler Manufacturing has more on the job accident reports than Panoply Industries. The situation could be that there are similar amount of on the job accidents in both places but many accidents are unreported in Panoply Industries. Again, we have to collect the data from the employees. There is no evidence that the shorter work shift is causing Panoply Industries less on the job accidents.

So there are factors which are not considered in the argument. Also, some things are not clarified to actually come to a decision about the measures Butler Industries should take. Therefore the argument is incomplete and more information should be gathered.