"During the past year, workers at our newly opened factory reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries. Panoply produces products very similar to those produced at our factory, but its work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents. Panoply's superior safety record can therefore be attributed to its shorter work shifts, which allow its employees to get adequate amounts of rest."

The vice president of a manufacturing company states in his memo that , last year the number of job accidents occurred in the own company are 30% greater than the Panoply industries. Experts assumed that the sleep hours are effecting the work of the employees. However, as more light is shed on the issue and as more detailed facts are concerned, the lack of answers through arguments leads me to question its validity.

First of all, does the safety measures in the newly opened factory are good enough compared to the Panopoly Industries. There might be a possibility that the precautionary measures and safety tips are well used and implemented in Panopoly. Maybe the workers working in the Panopoly knows the each and every corner of their work place rather than employees working in the newly opened industry which leads to risk of doing a work. If the above scenarios are merit, then the argument is weakened.

Secondly, does sleep cycle really effect the work load? In other words, does the difference of 1 hour in sleep effects the performance of work? There is a possibility that workers who slept for more hours in Panopoly have experienced job accident. If the above mentioned assumption is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Finally, does employees from newly opened factory sleep less hours compared to the Panopoly? Just because the shift timings are different, that doesn’t mean the sleeping hours will be different. Perhaps, the people from Panopoly don’t sleep straight after work. Possible chances are they might even sleep late. The argument doesn’t hold strength if the above mentioned scenarios are true.

In conclusion, the argument, as stands as of now, is flawed,. However, if the experts are able to provide enough evidence and offer answers to the above mentioned questions, the argument can be possibly evaluated.