Education systems should focus more on imparting practical skills than on teaching theoretical knowledge.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Education is the backbone of any country that is trying to walk on the path of development. Many countries have seen significant growth in their economies as the literacy rates and enrolment ratios grew over the years. As countries focus more on educating their population, the real question arises, what is the right way to educate the youth so that they are capable of becoming inspiring leaders of their countries?

Over the years, education, especially in countries like India, has focused on teaching from a theoretical perspective. The concept of learning and revising the same materials has been going on for years. One of the stark implications of this type of approach is that children, in the later stages of their lives, lack analytical thinking skills and their critical approach to problems is also weak. This further has great implications when they enter their jobs and the use of these critical reseaning skills becomes vital. On the other hand, one of the benefits of having theoretical based learning is that the ability to follow procedures and concepts of understanding becomes strong. Gaining fundamental knowledge of a particular subject is very important when a person is trying to specialize in a particular field.

In the recent times, countries like Finland, Netherlands and Iceland, have been seen to reduce the timings of school for children and even in some cases, they have reduced the number of working days. These countries have been known to not give their children any homework and all the learning seems to be happening in classrooms. This depicts a stark difference from the other traditional frameworks that are followed in countries like India, China and South Korea where children are known to spend atleast 10 hours daily in schools or other educational institutions. Now the main question is why are countries like Finland, Netherlands and Iceland adopting such methods?

The main reason behind these types of school strategies is that these countries believe in educating their youth through practical skills. Their school curriculum depends heavily on activities that are practical in nature rather than theory. Through these kind of methods the students are able to build onto their critical reseaning skills and analytical skills. The students's examinations are also like this. The questions are also more based on checking the analytical thinking of the student rather than how theory has the student learned. These kinds of methods have shown great success when we look at the trajectory of their careers and how practical thinking has helped them grow.

Through several conversations with employers and other stakeholders in India, it was also revealed that the freshers in India nowadays are lagging behind in comparison to other countries as they lack critical thinking abilities and are more used to following instructions and taking help from theory.

This argument reveals the pros of both theoretical knowledge and practical skills. However, it's highly important to understand the context of these skills. In the current times, we need to evaluate what is more beneficial for the youth and what would eventually help them grow in their careers and make them more successful.