Essay topic: In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department

In this argument, the author recommends the Mason city government to devote more money to maintaining the riverside recreational facilities. To bolster his or her suggestion, the author cites a survey that water sports are the Mason City residents favourite recreational activities, and the city government devotes little budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. While devoting more money to maintaining riverside recreational facilities may indeed gratify the residents, the reasoning of this argument is unconvincing due to several unsubstantiated assumptions which, if proven unwarranted, will seriously challenge the author's recommendation.

First of all, the author's recommendation relies heavily on the assumption that residents only play water sport at the riverside of the Mason River. Based on such an assumption, the author, therefore, proposes that the Mason River's riverside recreational facilities need more money to maintain. However, this assumption is potentially problematic because we are not informed of whether or not the residents of Mason City prefer to play water sports in other places. If turns out that people have many choices to choose where to play water sports but not only in the Mason River, then the author's argument is unconvincing.

In addition, by stating that the state announced plans to clean up the quality and the smell of the river's water, the author reason that the using of the river for water sports will increase. However, we need to re-examine the assumption that the reason for residents seldom play water sports in Mason River is the poor quality and the odour of the river's water. If there are other reasons, for example, people may prefer to swim in the pool, then the author's argument would be weakened.

Even if the assumptions mentioned above are valid, the writer's recommendation may still not be advisable due to the doubtful assumption regarding the quality and the smell of the river's water must be cleaned up by the state. More specifically, there is no guarantee about whether or not the state's plan is effective, or we even do not know whether the plan will be exactly performance or not. If in this case, the author's assumption will not hold, and his or her recommendation will be undermined.

To summarize, whether or not the city government should devote more money to riverside recreational facilities is still questionable and worth further investigation. The answer could turn out to be positive, but only after the author can reasonably demonstrate the validity of his/her assumptions by offering more compelling evidence.