Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: In order for a business to succeed, it must put more money in advertising?

Nowadays, advertising is become a common tendency. It is not surprising that some people, if not a majority, may argue that putting more money in advertising is necessary for a business to succeed, while in contrast, I firmly disagree with that in order for a business to succeed, it must put more money in advertising.

Firstly, a surplus of advertisement has a negative influence on sales. When advertisement is played on TV repeatedly, it will annoy audience because it prevents audience to watch continuously. For example, there was a notorious corporation named Naobaijing, and they advertised in 15 channels simultaneously for almost three months. It is so repugnant that their advertisement repeated three times and continuously played for two minutes, which leaved a vile impression to people. At that time, people often talked about that how hateful it is. However, since their sales was decreased after continual advertising, they had to diminish the size of their advertisement. If they had not put more money in advertising, but a moderate way to deliver advertisement, their sales would not have been decreased. Therefore, I maintain that in order for a business to succeed, it is not must to put more money in advertising.

Secondly, continual advertisement would increase the price of products. Since advertising requires numerous investment, corporation which has delivered advertisement would increase the price of their products to ensure the profit. For instance, the iphone was the greatest smart phone in the world, because of its efficient utility and excellent performance. However, the sales of the iphone has decreased since 2017, and the deficient innovation is the main reason for that. Apple chose to deliver two times advertisement than before to retort the bad sales, but it did nothing but pushed the price higher, and the higher price extinguish the purchasing desire while other smart phone like Huawei has more powerful performance and cheaper price. At last, they have to decrease the price. If Apple had not chosen to deliver more advertisement, but chose to improve their quality and to make more innovation, they would not have been discarded by customer. Thus, I am convinced that it is not must to put more money in advertising in order to succeed for a business.

To some extent, moderate number of advertisement is essential. For example, Maotai, which is a famous liquor producer in China, was not able to open the international market when they had not delivered advertisement. However, business should put more money in improving quality and serving, but not in advertising. In consequence, I believe that putting more money in advertising is not the must for a business to succeed.

To conclude, after weighty consideration, I have to maintain that in order for a business to succeed, it not must put more money in advertising.