Essay topics: The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee — a small price to pay when you consider the benefits.Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter.Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

The letter of recommendation asserts that all employees of Acme corporation be mandated to participate in the easy read speed course as it will improve the productivity of the corporation, based on the result from many other companies that the course has greatly enhanced the output of her employees. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, is there a guarantee that this easy read sped course which worked for other company employees, will work for Acme employees? Just because there is a positive output in many other companies does not necessarily assure the same result for Acme corporation. Perhaps, the two graduates who benefited from the course were merely smart and hardworking people i their various spheres of life. For instance, a company sent about 10 of its employees on a course, where they had to take a test at the end of the course and only 3 persons passed the course. Such can be the case of this speed course. Maybe the 2 employees were the best in the company. If the above stated is true, then the argument does not hold water.

Secondly, does the author think that because an employee was able to read through a 500 page report in two hours, that he assimiliated all he read? There is a possibility that the person who read the 500 page report simply flipped through the pages of the report that fast because he had a deadline to meet up, hence he hastily scanned through the report. If the scenario has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original document is significantly weakened.

Thirdly, the management of Acme assumes that because the cost for the easy read speed course is a small amount, considering that the seminar is just for a period of three weeks and the participants will be entitled to a life long subscription to read newsletters, that spending such an amount on each of its employees will at the long run be beneficial to the corporation. On the contrary, this might not be the case. Maybe, spending $500 per employee will not be a good idea, bearing in mind that not all persons who participate in the program will turn out like the graduate who could read 500 pages in two hours or the other one who rose from an assistant manager to the vice president of a company under one year. If either of these is the case, then the original argument is substantially flawed.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its dependence on baseless assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions and more information about the course before delving into it, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the feasibility of the proposed recommendation that all employees take part in the seminar.