evidence to nevaluate an argument and how the evidence strenghthens or weakens the argument

The argument is that the television station should devote more time to local and weather news as it has previously done to attract more viewers and avoid losing any further advertising revenues. While the manager comes to a reasonable conclusion, the argument made to reach this conclusion is flawed.

First, the manager appears to believe that there is a direct tie between the decreased time devoted to local/weather news and loss of viewers. Although this is plausible, could it also be the case that another television sation was created during this time which is more appealing to viewers? Evidence showing this will render the conclusion invalid. Also, there is no data showing that the reduced time dedicated to showing local and weather news is responsible for the loss of advertising revenues. Without this information in place, the argument made by the managers is pretty unconvincing.

Furthermore, the manager merely assumes that restoring the time dedicated to local and weather news will attaract more viewers. The manager however did not consider that its possible that viewers have lost interest in local and weather new. Any piece of nformation proving this to be the case would render the conlusion erroneous.

While the aforementioined assumptions are certainly enough to question the validity of this conclusion, the argument contains other quite unwarranted assumptions. For example, the argument also believes that local businesses cancelled their contracts because of the reduced time dedicated to showing local and weather news. Perhaps the businesses went bankrupt or had no more need for the advertisements. Evidence proving this to be true will seriously jeopardize the conclusion of this argument.

However, the manager can streghthen his case if he provides data cited from reputable or reliable sources while also being statistically significant or sufficiently representative that demonstrates causation between the reduced time devoted to local\weather news and loss of viewers and advertising revenues. With this data, his conclusion not only becomes plausible, but convincing.

This lithany of unsupported assumptions renders the argument baseless and there is no guarantee that restoring the time devoted to local and weather news will attract more viewers and prevent loss of advertising revenues.