Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument states that because of the implentation of the new procedure of student evaluating teaching effectiveness of their professors, their grades have gone up and hence, employers thinks the grades to be inflated and not accurately showing students results due to which students are unable to secure jobs.So, in order to increase placement percentage , the University is thinking to terminate the procedure.However, the reasons provided in the argument are flawed and conatin insufficient data make the decision of scrapping the evaluation procedure.

Firstly,The argument asserts that it is due to the evalution system that the professors have started assigning higher grades.But nowhere it is metioned how much significance the system holds onto the professors job.Maybe,it is just to indicate the areas where the professors needs improvement in terms of teaching and has no impact on his job .Then, it is very unlikely that they will be assigning higher grades to students without any reason.

Secondly, The reason of low placement percenatge of Omega University students maybe due to their lack of preperation .When interviewing for a job a lot of factors are counted.The interviwee looks not just at the grades but his/her basic knowledge in the field he is applying , prior internship experiences.The students of Alpha University might have prepared better with better resumes as compared to the students of the Omega University due to which they are able to get job .Hence, the evaluation system is not at fault here .The University should rather modify their curriculum and enviorment in order to promote students to prepare better .

The reasons stated above indicate that the assumption of the evaluation procedure being the root cause is flawed.Insufficient data is provided with which the decision of termination of the procedure shouldn't be passed.Rather,statistical data and study of the consequence of passing such a decison should also have been represented to strenghthen their position.