Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Authors conclusion to shut-down the student’s evaluation of teaching effectiveness at omega university is based on the premise that Potential employer’s belive, the suddent rise in grades does not perfectly corresponds to student’s academic achievements and hence the students of omega university are lagging behind the students of alpha university in securing better jobs. However, three evidences are required to evaluate the position of the argument.

Firstly, author needs to provide evidence (perhaps a survey) to compare the job prospects betweeen students of university of alpha and university of omega. It is possible that more than one variable are at play when it comes to jobs. Perhaps the univesity of alpha is near the area in which majority of employers are and university of omega is in the rural area where a few employers are there. It may be possible that university of alpha offers the programms which are related to current employers need whereas university of omega has outdated courses. If evidence supports any of the two scenarios then the evidence weakens the authors argument.

Secondly, authors needs to give evidence that the students at omega university where successful in getting jobs before the evaluation. It is possible, omega university students where not performing good even before the evaluation started. So, it would be unfair to say that student’s evaluation has a direct affect on job prospects. If the evidence is found that students were doing well in getting job before evaluation started then this evidence would support the authors argument.

Thirdly, there is no evidence that the potential employer’s conclude that average increase in marks means the marks did not reflect academic achievements of a student. It is possible that the employers do not even care about the academic grades as academics grades do not directly relate to job performance. Hence the author needs to provide a evidence (perhaps a research study) which shows that employer considers the academic marks as a variable while choosing an employee. If the authors provides the evidence then it will support the author’s claim.

In conclusion, the author’s claim about student evaluation directly affecting the job prospects is based on author’s personal assumptions and hence cannot be evaluated unless some evidence are provided. The evidence stated in second and third paragraph supports the authors claim whereas, evidence in first paragraph weakens the authors claims.