Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that

encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their

professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher

grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have

risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in

grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately

reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as

successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University.

To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should

terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to

evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or

strengthen the argument.

Omega university had used student evaluation of professors to evaluate its professors’ effectiveness. Consequently, the overall grades of students raised by 30 percent and prospective employers prefer to hire graduate students of Alpha university because they believe that Omega’s graduate students are not as successful as Alpha’s. Therefore, the author of the argument claims that Omega university should stop the student evaluation of professors to guarantee its students’ future’s job. However, this conclusion is drawn from fallacious assumptions and the author needs to examine more pieces of evidence.

First of all, the author argues that since the time of implementation of the student evaluations, professor assign higher grades, and overall grade increased. Perhaps, during that period of time, students had encouraged to study harder or Omega university had offered grant for who could achieve higher grades, and as a result, the overall grades became higher and it was irrelevant to the student evaluation of professors. In this case, Omega university do not require to terminate the student evaluation, and the argument will be invalid.

Moreover, there is no accurate comparison between Omega university graduated students and Alpha university. The author must examine these two universities’ demographics, majors, and overall average grades. It’s possible that these two universities are not analogous. If the number of the total graduate students of Alpha university in much less than Omega university, then the chance of being hired by potential employers for Alpha graduate students are higher. Also, maybe Omega university has more art majors while Alpha university has more engineering majors. In this case, potential employers might look for engineering graduated students and apparently, Alpha university graduate students will be more successful to finding jobs. Therefore, without specific evidence about details of the two university, the author cannot reach to conclusion that the student evaluations procedure is not useful, and the argument will be unsound.

Another line of reasoning that the author used is that the student evaluation procedure is responsible for the difficulty that Omega university graduate students faced to fine jobs. If Omega university curriculum is based on more theoretical courses while Alpha university emphasizes on practical courses, then students who graduate from Alpha university are more capable in convincing employers to hire them due to their strong practical backgrounds. Consequently, the student evaluation of professors, in Omega university, would not be the reason for the difficulty to find jobs and the argument cannot hold water.

All in all, the original argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to lack of specific evidence. If the author is able to provide more pieces of evidence, perhaps in form of a systematic study, then he can claim that in Omega university, the student evaluation of professors should be terminated or continued in order to guarantee the students’ future’s jobs.