Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall stu

Fifteen year ago, Omega university started a new procedure to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of professors and that time overall grade of the students in omega university risen by 30 percent. As a result of this procedure, omega graduate have not been successful at getting the jobs as have graduate near by alpha university. The author conclude that with the termination of evaluation of the teaching effectiveness of the professors by the students will help the graduates to secure the job. The proposed argument ifs flawed because it rest on unsupported assumption. The evidence presented by the author is not sufficient enough to lead convincingly to the proposed claim, making the argument vulnerable to criticism.

The author assume that overall grade average may have been increased by thirty percent in last fifteen year, but this fact can be independent of the evaluation of professor done by students. The students are getting grades that they do not deserve since they are not securing job despite of higher grades. However, inflated grade could be the result of the change in the pattern of exam. Their could have been change in the past fifteen year which make easier to the students to score in the exam. Therefore, if the student score higher grades, it could be only by the change in the exam pattern. Therefore, the professor should not completely responsible for the increase in the average grade of the students. The presence of any of these factor will seriously challenge the cause and effect relationship between higher grades of the student and the professor evaluation. Had the author mention, that all other factor effecting grades were constant and the effect was triggred only due to professor performance by students, the argument would have been stronger.

Secondly, the author assumes despite the higher grades obtained by the students in omega university, are not able to secure job as compare to the alpha university. However, it is possible that the courses of the alpha university has different type of courses that are more value for the potential employers. Thus the employers seek these courses rather than the courses running in the omega university. It is also likely that the students in the omega university are not able to get the job for themselves as compared to alpha university because they have not been able to perform well in the interview conducted by the employers. In that case, Omega university counselor teach the interview skills to the students rather than abolish the professor evaluation. Had the author represent these advice then the argument would have been stronger.

Thirdly, the author assume that overall average students scored higher grades after the university started the professor teaching evaluation. However, it may be the possibility that the student enrolled in that year more intelligent and more serious in study as compared to the previous year students. New students enrolled get higher grades and previous students get low grades but overall average grade of the students rise by thirty percent. Had the author mentioned the exact grade obtained by each student or represent data class wise , the argument would have been stronger.

Since, the given argument is flawed and rest on the unsupported assumptions. It is vulnerable to criticism by incorporating the points mention above the author could have been bolstered this argument.