Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

Omega University implemented a procedure in which the teaching effectiveness of professors is evaluated by students. Since then, the students have been getting high grades and there is a sudden rise in overall student’s grades by 30 percent. Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable them to secure jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluations of professors. The given argument needs to answer certain questions in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument are reasonable. The following question needs to be answered as given below-:

The first question that an author needs to answer is that it is not known that before implementation of the policy students of Omega University were getting high grades or not. As no past statistics are there, therefore, it will be wrong to compare the present statistics with the past one. It might be the case that students of Omega University have started doing hard work or it may be the result of better teaching methodology or there may be a change in any evaluation policy due to which students are getting better grades. The author needs to answer all these questions.

The second question an author needs to answer is that author has merely assumed that potential employers are not selecting students of Omega University because of their high grades. The selection criteria of the potential employers have not been mentioned. The author needs to answer whether the selection criteria of employers is solely based on the academic performance of the students or based on any entrance test or interview. The important question that needs to answer is that do employers actually think that inflated grades are responsible for giving employment to Omega students.

The third question that an author needs to answer is on what basis the author is comparing the placements statistics of Omega University and Alpha University. There is no past placement statistics mentioned in the argument. Moreover, it has not been mentioned that Alpha University has implemented the same policy as adopted by Omega University. It would be wrong to compare the two. The question left unresolved without any past and present statistics. Nothing has been mentioned about the curriculum structure of both universities. It might be the case that the curriculum structure of Alpha University may be world-class or industry oriented. The author needs to answer all these questions to justify the prediction.

As the argument has not answered these questions it is not reasonable to justify the prediction and the argument made. Therefore, we cannot say that in order to enable Omega students to secure better jobs, the professor's evaluation by students should be terminated.