Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of this argument recommends that the omega university must terminate the student evaluation system of professor to enable its student’s secure better job. The author claims that over the years the professors have been inclined to give higher grades to its students so that the same is reflected on their reports. To bolster his recommendation the author provides several evidences which seem to be cogent and persuasive at first glance. However the scrutiny of the evidences divulges it implausible due some major logical fallacies and incoherent evidences.

Firstly the author fails to give any information on the student evaluation system and its effectiveness. Like if the identity of student is revealed or not. If the identity is not revealed the professor evaluation will be unbiased. Also the nature of question asked in the evaluation process is left to our imagination. Nor is the effect and action of the evaluation system is revealed. It may be possible that the evaluation system just evaluates the discipline and sincerity of professor towards their job which may have a positive effect and the professor become more sincere.

There can also be a possibility that in fifteen years the quality of education infrastructure and research work at the university has improved and has attracted more dyanamic students resulting in the inflation of grades.

Furthermore the author argues that the employers feel the inflation in the grades at the omega university student’s is false and does not actually reflect their competence. But to strengthen this claim the author doesn’t provide any feedback from the employer to support his argument. Also the author’s comparison of Alpha university employment statistic with omega university figure is inappropriate. May it be that the courses at Alpha University are more job oriented and at the omega university it is research oriented. So the employers recruit more students from Alpha University.

Thus summing up we can say that the author fails to provide convincing evidences to make his argument persuasive. If the author had documented his recommendation with the above said data his recommendation would have been more substantiated and may have convinced the omega university to terminate its student evaluation system.