The following advice was given to a politician by his political consultant: It is true that 200 apartment renters protested in the rain about the elimination of rent control regulation. However, there are 20,000 renters in the entire city. 19,800 of them stayed home and did not protest. The group that did not protest is much larger and better represents the opinion of renters throughout the city: that the elimination of rent control is not a problem. You should not let the small protest discourage you.

Describe how well reasoned you find this argument. In the discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counterexamples might weaken the argument's conclusion. You may also address possible changes in the argument that would make it more logically sound, and what, if anything, would help you better evaluate its conclusion.

The political consultant attempts to make an argument on the basis of numerical

evidence, which although not completely unsound, fails to consider the

circumstantial aspects of the protest and population they are pulling their

information from. The protest was not occurring in a controlled environment where

people only had two options: to participate if they supported or not to participate if

they did not support. Assuming those that were present at the protest represent all

that desire to eliminate rent control is neglecting many other alternative factors and

groups of people who might care to eliminate rent control.

The political consultant only calculates the renters of the city and dismisses those

who may not be a renter. Rent control does not solely effect renters but also,

tenants, shelters, social services, public health services, and a continuing extension

of other social spheres. Furthermore, people could potentially be personally

unaffected by rent control and yet, know others who are and therefore have an

opinion as well. For the politician to disregarding voters beyond renters as

opinionated forces on this issue, could be gravely deleterious to his career.

Even if non-renters were obsolete from the discussion of rent control, the people

willing to protest and even more so, stand in the rain, are not the full embodiment of

a people group. Many factors other than lacking support could have kept someone

from showing up to the protest including a previous engagement, lack of

transportation, illness, inability to stand in tumultuous weather, or lack of knowledge

of the protest. Those that may oppose the removal of rent control can still oppose

without physically protesting. It is not logically sound to assess a group of protestors

as the only people serious about their opinions, because all someone needs to do is

write on a piece of paper to vote against the candidate, not shout in a street in the

rain.

To make the political consultant's argument more sound, looking at the voting

statistics and possibly constructing a survey could present more reliable

information. The survey and statistics should come from an extensive and diverse

group and remain as unbiased as possible to collect the most realistic sample. Even

answering more questions about the protest and considering the limited scope of

the protest could bolster the presented argument. Knowledge of the greater

community of renters that were present at the protest and where they live, their

economic class, and if they were all truly renters would be helpful knowledge.

The argument presented to the politician is not sound or well supported. Ultimately,

the line of reasoning could be successful in a controlled experiment where all of the

population was represented in the numbers assessed and other factors were not

keeping people from displaying their opinions on rent control. Without a controlled

setting, this approach cannot be soundly used to conclude rent control as not a

problem.