"The following advice was given to a politician by his political consultant:

It is true that 200 apartment renters protested in the rain about the elimination of rent control regulation. However, there are 20,000 renters in the entire city. 19,800 of them stayed home and did not protest. The group that did not protest is much larger and better represents the opinion of renters throughout the city: that the elimination of rent control is not a problem. You should not let the small protest discourage you."

Describe how well the reasoning is in this. In the discussion be sure to analyze the line of reasoning and the use of evidence in the argument. For example, you may need to consider what questionable assumptions underlie the thinking and what alternative explanations or counter examples might weaken the arguments's conclusion. You may also address possible changes in the argument that would make it more logically sound and would help you to better evaluate its conclusion.

The political consultant advices the politician in terms of certain matters of political and administrative issues regarding the elimination of rent control regulation. While considering this issue separately, we realize that eliminating rent control strategies is rather an effective way to reduce the pressure on the people who live in rented apartments, giving them time and space to pay their rents when they are in a financially good position. Additionally, it also reduces some conditions and cases of bribing, black money and threatening.

But, here the consultant has substantiated his argument on the foundation of statistics that only 200 people who are apartment renters among a population of 20,000 have protested regarding the matter in the rain. This number is something the politician must not be worried about and hence should go a step further with the policy. But, this cannot be considered as the only reason as to why only 200 people protested, though it might be a cause. It could be quite possible that the weather was a cold, rainy day and there was a high potential that people might fall sick on such a day if outdoors for a long while. Furthermore, we also are not sure whether this protest happened on a working or a non-working day and whether the information about this particular policy had reached all of the general public or not. For instance, it is possible that the idea regarding such a policy was initiated the day before and only a minor group of people who were aware and had some connections within the government were aware and decided to start at least a small spark regarding such a policy, hoping it may grow in proportion for the days to come.

Furthermore, the claim that the rest 19,800 who did not protest represents the population who were in favour of it cannot be totally true. The consultant cannot be totally sure that the whole of this population is totally fine with this reform. There are chances that there is a lack of clear communication among the public and they are yet to know the complete scenario of the policy and do not want to jump to conclusions. They want to get a complete picture of what exactly is on their plate and then decide their own course of action based on communication and talks. For example, there is no clear cut claim in the argument about a proper timeline of events regarding when the particular policy was sanctioned and after how long are they recording the effects.

Thus, all these reasons as mentioned above, need to be considered before directly concluding that there won’t be any problem on issuing such a policy of elimination of rent control regulation. After all, the government should remember that he is dealing with the people here who have their own interests, opinions, objections and mood swings and any policy or reform will undergo abundant number of hit and trail errors before passing it successfully.

Thus, according to me, the information given in this argument by the consultant is partially right but nevertheless is not enough to decide whether the politician should oversee such a small protest. A reliable conclusion will require more data.