The following appeared in an announcement issued by the publisher of The Mercury, a weekly newspaper. “Since a competing lower-priced newspaper, The Bugle, was started five years ago, The Mercury’s circulation has declined by 10,000 readers. The best way to get more people to read The Mercury is to reduce its price below that of The Bugle, at least until circulation increases to former levels. The increased circulation of The Mercury will attract more businesses to buy advertising space in the paper.”

The argument claims that decreasing the price of the newspaper ‘Mercury’ will increase its circulation and allow it to generate revenue through other means such as advertisement. Although the argument is compelling at face value, it is ultimately untenable because it is filled with assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. Hence the argument unconvincing and as several flaws.

The argument implies that the competitor newspaper and the high price of the 'Mercury' are the sole factors that are causing the decline in circulation. Moreover, the author fails to consider other factors that may also cause circulation to decline such as the decline in total newspaper consumption, supply issue, the difference in information coverage of the two newspapers and difference in distribution channels of the two newspapers. Additional evidence on the impact of other factors that can cause ‘Mercury’s’ decline in circulation through market research can help support the argument. The author would also benefit from surveying newspaper consumers to see if a price reduction of 'Mercury' to that of 'Bugle' will be sufficient enough will increase their likelihood to buy 'Mercury' or if the decline in circulation is caused by another factor rather than price.

Building upon the implications that the ‘Mercury’s’ circulation can increase to former levels, the author offers the conditional argument that increasing circulation will help attract business to buy advertising. The author needs to consider the other factors that entice business to purchase advertising besides the amount of circulation. The obvious factor here is the newspaper's reader demographics and whether businesses will view the reader of ‘Mercury’ as the ideal demographic to advertise to. the author also needs to consider whether the amount of circulation of ‘Mercury’ compared to that of other platforms is enticing enough for businesses to buy advertisement. On the contrary, the newspaper's increase in circulation alone may not be sufficient to convince businesses to buy advertisement, especially if businesses can buy advertisement at similar newspapers, like 'Bugle' at cheaper prices. The author can conduct market surveys with businesses to better understand the drivers and barriers of buying advertisement and if the characteristics of 'Mercury' will motivate businesses to buys advertising.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed as it rests on too many logical fallacies to be viable like those mentioned above. 'Mercury' may not be losing readership due to the competition, reducing price may not lead to an increase in circulation and the increase in circulation may not lead to an increase in businesses buying advertisement. Ultimately, the argument can be strengthened by evidence that claims the decrease in price can result in changes in consumer behavior and evidence that support that businesses are likely to buy advertisement at 'Mercury'. In order to assess the merits of this situation, it is essential to have a full understanding of the drivers and barriers of consumer and businesses behavior. Without this information, the argument remains unsubstantiated and open to debate.