The following appeared in an article written by

Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist,

visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his

observations that children in Tertia were reared by

an entire village rather than by their own biological

parents. However, my recent interviews with

children living in the group of islands that includes

Tertia show that these children spend much more

time talking about their biological parents than

about other adults in the village. This research of

mine proves that Dr. Field’s conclusion about

Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the

observation-centered approach to studying cultures

is invalid as well. The interview-centered method

that my team of graduate students is currently

using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate

understanding of child-rearing traditions there and

in other island cultures.”

The specific evidence needed to evaluate the argument made is the which clarifies whether the children of Tertia are reared by entire village or just by their biological parents.

If the evidence clearly says that children in Tertia are raised by entire village, then Dr. Karp argument is invalid. He says as these children speak much more time about their biological parents, they are raised by their biological parents. But, this conclusion might be fallacious. Talking more about biological parents doesn’t necessarily guarantee that these children are reared by only their biological parents. It is also probable that though reared by entire village, these children may tend to observe their parents, love them and talk more about them. The case can also be like these children intentionally talk less about other adults, to avoid them giving offences. Nevertheless, to generalising that observation–centered method works better than interview-centered method based on just one such example is a moot point.

Though having said above, if the evidence indicates that these children are reared by only their biological parents, Dr. Field conclusion is obviously invalid. The evidence can be even from Dr. Field’s student’s studies provided if they are disinterested. It also reflects that interactions works better in understanding traditions and cultures rather than just observations. Such an example strengthens the argument made by Dr. Karp.