The following appeared in an article written byDr. Karp, an anthropologist.“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist,visited the island of Tertia and concluded from hisobservations that children in Tertia were reared byan entire village rathe

The argument makes a number of unstated assumptions regarding a new research approach that is claimed to be better than Dr. Karp's approach to study village cultures. Taken as a whole, the flawed assumption that will be detailed in the following paragraphs, if not proven to be true, seriously undermine the argument validity.

Fist of all, the argument fails in assuming that the children currently living in Tertian behave equal to those living in the island whe Dr. Karp made his research. By assuming this similarity without any evidence to support it, the author makes the argument weaken and hardly convincent. As the cultures and behaviors change in the time, there is no evidence proven that the diferences in the Dr. Karp's and the author's findings make the second reserach approach more accurate or trustful than the first one. Only if the author had shown evidences that the both surveyed public have similar behaviors, the argument could be considered as relevant to support the conclusions made by the author.

Secondly, the argument provide a unwarrent assumption that the survey conducted by the author was really representative of the children living in Tertia. By stating tha the reserach was made among island population, including Tertia, the argument raises doubts on how statiscally accurate and valid are the sampling plan used in the reserach to trustfuly represent the treats of ther tettia curlture. Indeed, the survey may be conducted with a very few sample of Tertia population and express more the culture of other island but Tertia. Therefore, the mentioned recent research conducted by the argument's author may not be useful to challenge the results found by Dr. Karp, what makes the argument misleading and unfair.

Finally, the argument presents too vague evidences that the interview-centered reseach method adopted by the author will establish a much more accurate undestanding of the child-rearing traditions of island cultures. There is no evidences or further detais on which aspects the new approach would be more accurate, as well as comparing against what research methods os studies this new approach will be better. This lack of information makes the argument doubtful and weaken the new research approach.

To sum up, the argument that the new research method to understand the culture of populations living in island is better than old one, conducted by the well-kknown antrophologist Dr. Karp, is totally based on flawed assumptions that, if not further detailed and proven, make the argument hardly relevant to any academic purpose.