The following appeared in an article written by Dr Karp an anthropologist Twenty years ago Dr Field a noted anthropologist visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village r

On his visit to the village of Tertia, Dr. Field noticed that there was something peculiar in the village; which is that children in Tertia are reared by the whole village rather than their own biological parents. Based on the author's recent interviews, he disapproves Dr. Field's observation, since in the interview the children talked more about their biological parents rather than other adults. Using that knowledge Dr. Karp, the author, claims that Dr. Field's observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid, however, the validity of the claim is supported by lack of sufficient evidence, unjustified assumptions and aimless correlations. Therefore, making the author's conclusion flawed and debatable.

Dr. Karp states that based on his interview the children from Tertia talk more about their biological parents over other adults from the village, therefore, the observation-method is unapplicable to studying cultures. However, to validate this argument question from Dr. Karp's interview must be reviewed. If the author had asked questions only relating to the biological parents then it is obvious the children will talk more about them over the other adults; which would indicate that the interview did not hold proper questions to reach the given conclusion.

Additionally to the aforementioned argument, the author's argument takes unjustified assumptions that the village of Tertia is similar to other villages. If the population, culture, economy, and various other factors of Tertia are similar to majority of the villages then the author's claim that observation-method approach cannot be applied to studying culture may hold true. Presently however, there is no evidence that Tertia is similar to other villages, and that because observation-method approach might have been inappropriate for the study of Tertia it will be invalid for rest of the villages in the world. Without strong evidence of similarity between other villages and Tertia, the author's extreme claim that observation-approach is invalid for study of culture is debatable.

Despite having the aforementioned flaws, the author's argument might have some validity if the author is able to gather evidence from the interview-centered method he is currently holding. If the interview-centered method asks the appropriate questions to current parents of the village like "Who does your child spend the most time with?" then, based on the response the author's conclusion may gain some integrity. If the parents respond that majority of the time their children are with them then, it would disapprove Dr. Field's observation that children are reared by the village and show that observation-approach to studying culture might have some defects. However, if the response is opposite to what is previously stated, then, Dr. Field's observation would gain validity and disapprove Dr. Karp's conclusion.

The current conclusion presented by the author faces many challenges before it can be considered valid. These include, but are not limited to, insufficient evidence, unjustified assumptions and aimless correlations. Based on these flaws, it can be stated that the author has work to do and must present strong evidence, and details of the interview taken, interview that will be taken and statistical similarities between Teria and other villages to support their conclusion.