The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While the article by Dr. Karp suggests that the interview- centered method will establish more accurate understanding rather than an observation centered approach to studying cultures, it lacks several considerations and bases its study on many assumptions. In order to back his argument, the author would require to address certain information without which that argument quite doesn’t prove to be valid.

The article mentions that the study and observations were conducted and concluded by Dr. Field twenty years ago, and the author is comparing his works of recent times with the time of a bygone era. We do not know whether the study that was conducted twenty years ago had the same privileges and the advance equipment that are available in this period. The author assumes to have the same structure and methodology to conduct research with the period that significantly had less technological aspects and advancements along with the societal notions and policies etc. that accounts for a difference between that era and the present. If there were any evidence illustrating the parallels between both the methodologies, authors’ statement would make a valid point, however, since there is no aspect but assumption, author’s assumption casts doubt on the validity of the point which acts as a base for his conclusion.

Additionally, the author also mentions that in his recent interviews, the children on the island talked more about their biological parents contrasting the study pursued by Dr. Field, that based on his observation, the children of that time were reared by villagers and not by their parents. Again, the author makes his claim to sound valid by assuming no difference between the social and cultural aspects of the past with the present. Perhaps, the time when Dr. Field studied the culture of the islanders, the situation was preposterous for kids as their parent would abandon them for some reasons, and not bother because of lack of responsibility or committing acts without prior knowledge of consequence. That said, maybe they were not more socially polished as a society compared to now. If the island had the same tradition, culture or social aspects that did not change from twenty years or so, it would strengthen the authors notion that his study is better than his predecessor. Conversely, if the all the aspects had changed significantly over time, this argument becomes invalid to warrant for the claim by the author.

The article is concluded by asserting the author’s position strongly by invalidating the approach taken by his predecessor with the a few acknowledged assumptions. The observation method of approaching a study and the interview-based approach is fundamentally different and result in different statistical and analytical data. However, the author compares his work with an obviously distinct methodology and also cites his study to be valid. The validity of a research is also affected by certain circumstantial difference, either it is the periodic, social or technological difference. The argument is predicated strongly on assumptions and require more evident supporting statements to claim the validity. Therefore, without accurate information on the matter, the article lacks to make an impact.

While the author’s claim for the validity of the research and its success is fairly supported by assumptions that might be true at certain circumstances, but lacks seriously in developing a notion differentiating and asserting his methodology with somebody else’s. However, with the additional information with fact based evidences, the author’s argument can be properly evaluated.