The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author boldly asserts that the observation-centered research conducted by Dr. Field twenty years ago on the Island of Tertia is inconsequential compared to his interview-centered method. But this argument may not be wholly valid or is based on inconcrete assumptions in the least.

The author provides that he rejects Dr. Field’s conclusion that all island children, regardless of kin status, were nurtured by the general adult population. But the author's argument does not elaborate on how Dr. Field came up with his conclusion and methodology. It thus does not provide solid reasoning to invalidate Field’s observation-centered research. Additionally, the temporal difference between “twenty years” and “now” must be considered before reaching firm conclusions. The author’s assumption that the research conducted 20yrs ago is still valid and that no variations in the ideology or demeanor of people residing on the island could perhaps cloud judgment and lead to erroneous conclusions. The possibility that the gap of twenty long years may have brought significant changes in the village culture must not be ignored. It can be argued that the island, being estranged from the mainland, has developed its own distinct culture or a “cocoon” where rearing another’s child is standard practice and not deemed unusual as is observed in some mainland cultures.

Secondly, there is no clarification on the questions that were asked to the children of Tertia. The questions could have been worded or asked in a particular way to elicit a specific response related to the children's biological parents. Arriving at conclusions based on answers received from children does not prove that the other adults on the island contributed any less than the birth parents.

The argument also fails to inform other critical factors, such as the duration of Dr. Field’s visit or period of interaction with the indigenous population and the possibility that Dr. Field’s visit coincided when a cultural celebration was taking place and where he observed the unity among the people as one big family.

Furthermore, the grounds where the two scientists conducted research were not equal. Dr. Field’s reasoning is based on observations made at one island (Tertia), whereas Dr. Karp’s conclusion results from interviews conducted on a group of islands. Thus, the argument is imbalanced and unconvincing.

Hence, the various gaps, unanswered questions, and unsupported assumptions warrant that neither argument presented by anthropologists must be immediately invalidated.