The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The above assumption states that observation-centered approach does not provide a valid observation in study of culture which is vaidated by an interview-centered approach. This implies that interview-centered method is the conventional method to be followed while studying cultures based on an empirical evidence. It was author's observation that brought this conclusion.

However, this cannot be completely accepted because of the following points - Firstly, the conditions and the environment under which the interview was conducted affects the response of the children. Suppose if children were at their homes along with their parents, their answers would probably be biased. Or else, if the children are not in support of taking care of them by the society or the people in the society, it would also result in a biased answer.The questions asked, also result in the answers generated. If the questions are more related to their parents, they would obviously answer related to that.

If the assumptions prove wrong, then that would result in giving out a vague study of culture. If interview-centered approach is given weightage than observation-centered approach, that would result an answer that is inclined to the response that is collected through interview. As interviewees are children, their responses might not be enough to extrapolate and form a final result. But if both the approaches are used together it would give a more detailed explanation of the culture.

Therefore, the observation-centered approach cannot be ostarcized as this approach would also go hand-in-hand along with the interview-centered approach for a broader knowledge of studying culture.