The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist."Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rat

In the article, Dr. Karp compared his research with the Dr. Field, claiming that his conclusion about the Tertia culture is fallacious, since his recent study shows that children in Tertia are reared by their parents instead of the village. Furthermore, he argues that the observation-centered method used by Dr. Field in his research is invalid in studying culture, since his study is erroneous. However, the article written by Dr. Karp is not cogent with several untenable assumptions.

To begin with, Dr. Karp’s study period is 20 years later than that of Dr. Field. As globalization become more drastic, traditional cultures are easily affected by other cultures. There is no evidence showing that Tertia is an insular culture without any contact with the outside world. Twenty years ago, Tertia may be a culture that the entire village play the parental role to raise their children, yet twenty years later, biological parents are the primary one that takes the responsibilities of children due to urbanization and globalization. With different time space, the study result found by Dr. Karp is unable to determine whether the previous result from Dr. Field is truthful. After all, culture is different from the perpetual fact that sun rises in the East, it varies with time.

Moreover, the article relies on the assumption that answers from the children in Tertia can represent the education culture in the village. Though Dr. Karp mentions that children talk about their parents more frequent than the village during the interview, it is not convincing enough to make such conclusion that it is biological parents rearing the children instead of the village based on two reasons. Firstly, there is no specific age group of the children that participate in the interview. After all, a three-year-old child and a thirteen-year-old child can have completely distinct aspects over their own culture. Suppose a three-year-old girl is always talking about her parents in the interview, is it appropriate to make such conclusion in the article? Despite the girl is capable of speaking, she is still too young to aware of others except her closest relatives, parents. Thus it is untenable to draw conclusions from children in this age. Secondly, why do the adults in Tertia not participating in the interview? Compared to children, the adults are mature and judicious, thus the conclusion will be more compelling if supported by the perspectives of the adults.

In addition, the author denies the credibility of observation-centered method based on the opposite results made by Dr. Field. Even there is mistake in Dr. Field’s research, it is unreasonable to make such conclusion. A method that leads to a negative result in a certain situation does not equal to fecklessness. For example, whether light is a wave or a particle was once a famous debate among physicists before Einstein proposed his Photoelectronic Effect, it turns out that light is both wave and particle, but tends to act as waves or particles in different situations. As a result, the observation method might still be useful in different situations when conducting anthropologic researches. Therefore, it is unreasonable to deny a method because of a certain mistake.

In sum, the article proposed by Dr. Karp neglects the situation differences and provides insufficient evidence to substantiate his statement. Besides Dr. Karp underestimates the usage of observation-centered method.