The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and

concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village

rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children

living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more

time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This

research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid

and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The

interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will

establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other

island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the observation of Dr Field, Children of village Tertia are reared by the village rather than by their biological parents through his observations. Whereas, recent interviews by him/her states that children of Tertia, talk more about their biological parents than other, which might be a true case. But, some of the conclusion derived from the interviews of Children are questionable.

Firstly, the interview conducted by the students are not exclusive to the village of Tertia, which makes the conclusion general to all the villages under the sample space which consist of other villages. The research done by Dr. field was specific to the village Tertia. On the other hand, we don’t know how many children he/she interviewed from the Tertia to draw this conclusion of invalidating Dr Field’s observation, whereas there is a possibility that he/she would have interviewed only 3 to 4 children from the village as his/her the research was not exclusive to this village per se. Also, Dr Field’s research dates to twenty years, where things might have changed over a period of twenty years.

Secondly, though the children of the village Tertia tend to talk more about their biological parents, doesn’t necessarily mean Dr. field’s observation on the culture of the village is wrong. Because it can be a possibility that children can speak about their parents and the culture of village rearing the children to co-exist. Also, conclusion can’t be drawn from what a person says as it is an individualistic and person-specific aspect.

Thirdly, there is no clarity in what kind of questions were asked to the children which made them answer more about their parents than about culture. Questions would have been more specific to biological parents like who they are? And what are they doing etc. which would have instigated more parent’s specific answers. Also, we really don’t know whether there were cultural specific questions. Thus, the conclusion of regarding a methodology to be flawed is a strong and invalid statement without considering the nuisance and time period of the specific research.